• Study a fascinating range of sites, from Neolithic tombs to enigmatic medieval monuments and elegant country houses.
• Lovers of Yeats’s poetry will enjoy visits to Rosses Point, Dooney, Dromahair, Innisfree and Drumcliffe.
• Guest lectures and guiding by local specialists will complement the expertise our Tour Director, Niamh Whitfield.
Depart Gatwick 1045 on Aer Lingus arriving Dublin 1210. Glencar Lake and Waterfall (associated with Yeats). Continue to Sligo for five nights at the Riverside Hotel.
Introductory lecture, followed by Carrowmore (excavated Neolithic megalithic cemetery), Sligo Abbey (Dominican friary founded in the 13th century), walking tour with local guide at Rosses Point (pretty seaside village, much visited by the young Yeats).
Guest lecture by Damien Brennan, former president of the Yeats Society: Yeats, Lady Gregory and the Abbey Theatre. Morning in Sligo with guided visit to the Niland Collection (contemporary Irish art including works by Jack Butler Yeats). Afternoon: Carrowkeel (passage tomb cemetery on the Bricklieve mountains), or for those who wish to avoid the climb, Boyle Abbey and King House (restored Georgian mansion and former home of the Connaught Rangers, now a museum).
Whole day at Lough Gill: Tobernalt Holy Well, Dooney Rock and Dromahair (both referred to in poems by Yeats), Creevelea Abbey (Franciscan friary founded in 1508), Parke’s Castle (17th century fortified manor house). Boat trip on Lough Gill to view Innisfree and other places associated with Yeats.
Creevykeel (Neolithic court tomb), Drumcliffe (burial place of Yeats and his wife George, early medieval high cross), Lissadell (early 19th century house and garden, home of Yeats’s friends, the Gore-Booth family, which included the Irish rebel Countess Markievicz).
Walking tour with local guide at Streedagh (where three ships from the Spanish Armada were wrecked, fragments of which still remain), Florence Court (18th century house and landscaped grounds). Transfer to Enniskillen for two nights at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel.
Lower Lough Erne: Boa Island (enigmatic Janus-faced sculpture), White Island (ruined church with early medieval sculpture and Romanesque doorway), Killadeas (carved ‘Bishop’s Stone’), Devenish (island monastery with round tower, remains of early churches and ruined Augustinian priory of St Mary).
Castle Coole (late 18th century mansion in parkland). Depart Dublin 1550, arriving Gatwick 1715.